Johnny Depp – Secret Window

Hello again!

After watching Secret Window, I think I fell in love with Johnny Depp as an actor. He’s amazing. It’s rare anyone knows the real him because the roles he plays are always so well portrayed; Willy Wonka, the Indian from The Lone Ranger, Edward Scissorhands, The Mad Hatter and of course, Captain Jack Sparrow.

However, his performance as Mort Rainey, I think, is his best yet, hence why I decided to draw him.

It took me around 4 hours to completely finish. The first hour was focused marking out the features using a 6H pencil; the eyes, lips, nose, hair line, jaw line and the main shading spots on his face.The next hour and a half were dedicated to his hair, which quite frankly took forever to do. To start with, I couldn’t get the strands the right shade, at one point I’m sure he had a mop on his head! Then he look like he’d had a neatly trimmed bob as I couldn’t quite figure out how to shade the curls in correctly. Once his hair was finished, it took me only half an hour to shade his clothes and another half an hour to shade the facial features, doing the glasses last. The remaining time was spend going over and darkening patches so they blended together well, especially on his hair and forehead.

I’m not going to lie, my hand looked like that of the Silver Surfer’s because the pencil had smudged down my hand and arm… The joys of being a lefty 😀

Any feedback or drawing ideas you could give me would be greatly appreciated, thanks again guys! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Johnny Depp – Secret Window

  1. I tend to sweat profusely when drawing, too. And, I usually only use one pencil unless I am coloring. I know some younger, more “educated” folks who have been taught how to juggle various tools I fail to use. I’m a bit of a “cave man” artist. But, when I care about a piece and feel uncertain about my ability to draw…or if it’s just warm in the room…I can create quite a pencil/sweat mess. It’s almost worse when I use a pen/marker to ink a piece. I used to smear ink every time and get so upset. Now, I just ink much slower and take breaks to cool off:P

      • Hmm. Well, for one, it depends on what kind of ink/tool you use. I have only worked with ballpoint pen and various shapes/grades of “Sharpie” marker. I’ve never used a quill or fountain pen among other tools.
        I presume you mean you’ve drawn with pencil before inking but never ink alone. Right?
        Also, I don’t draw straight with pen (pen first) unless I am usually doodling…which, oddly enough, sometimes works better for me because I don’t take myself as seriously and sometimes draw more effectively without the added time spent penciling. If you are lucky (and this usually only works with ballpoint pen), you can sketch lightly like a pencil before laying down bolder/definite lines. Or, if you use markers, some caricature artists seem to draw with light colors under the dark/black to sketch their portraits. This way the light color is (sometimes) ignored from a distance, washed out by the bold lines drawn over the sketchy ones.
        I prefer to pencil first, obviously, if the piece is for a gift or professional use. I found a book with Stan Lee’s name on it which gave some good tips/pointers.
        1) Make two copies of your work. The first, the pencil draft. The second, trace over your first draft with pencil and/or ink (ink if you can lay a clear plastic over your pencil work and use a light board beneath all layers). So, without a light board, I use thinner paper and pencil my images twice. Sometimes, the second draft gets changed a bit as my mind re-thinks the original.
        2) When inking, be sure to do some practice strokes with your inking tool/s of choice to reduce nerves and fear of mistakes. Make sure everything is working fluid/normally.
        3) Start inking from a comfortable corner of the page/project and work your way from the center out so your hand’s warmth doesn’t carry into the page. It’s always given a chance to cool as you move out from the center. The last thing you probably want to ink is the border/frame. However…
        4) Ink the bold lines first and thinner detail lines second/later. So, if drawing a person, start with the basic shapes and let that dry/cool before adding wrinkles, shadows, etc.
        5) Choose the time and place for inking heavy/dark areas carefully. Depending on how you trace/layer your work, you could do these first (if you’re tracing over pencil under clear plastic) or last (if there’s a chance you might sweat over the pencil around the heavy/dark ink spot.

Leave a Reply

